Skip to navigation content (Press Enter).

McMaster University

Sun dial on the facade of Hamilton Hall

Committee on University Ceremonials & Insignia

Terms of Reference

Article IX of the Senate By-Laws states:

129.  The Committee on University Ceremonials and Insignia shall consist of the Chancellor; the President; the University Bedel; and eight members of the Senate, one of whom shall be a graduate student and one of whom shall be an undergraduate student; and five members of the Committee constitute a quorum at any meeting thereof. The University Registrar and the Calendar and Convocation Co-ordinator shall be consultants to the Committee.

130.  (a)     The Committee shall be responsible for the planning and conduct of all University ceremonials, including all Convocations; and shall keep under continual review the form of and procedure at such ceremonials and all matters relating thereto.

        (b)     The Committee shall also be responsible for reviewing and making decisions, or recommendations to the Senate or the Board of Governors, on matters relating to heraldic practice and policy.

Revised: June 2016


The Committee on University Ceremonials and Insignia consists of the following members for July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019:

Name Composition
Dr. Suzanne Labarge Chancellor
Dr. Patrick Deane President
Dr. Michel Rathbone University Bedel
Dr. Narat Charupat Member of Senate
Dr. Mary Silcox (Chair) Member of Senate
Dr. Spencer Smith Member of Senate
Dr. Kim Dej Member of Senate
Dr. Martin Beckman Member of Senate
Dr. Megumi Harada Member of Senate
Mr. Cam Brandreth Undergraduate Student Senator
Vacant Graduate Student Senator
Ms Melissa Pool Registrar (Consultant)