June 30, 2004

McMaster graduate awarded Trudeau Foundation Scholarship valued at up to $200,000

McMaster Image

Alenia Kysela, who graduated from McMaster University’s Arts and Science program in 1994 and from McMaster University’s Doctor of Medicine programme in 1997 is a recipient of a prestigious Trudeau Foundation Doctoral Scholarship.

Montreal, PQ - The Pierre Elliott Trudeau Foundation today named this year’s recipients of the prestigious Trudeau Foundation Doctoral Scholarship. Among the recipients is Alenia Kysela, who graduated from McMaster University’s Arts and Science program in 1994 and from McMaster University’s Doctor of Medicine programme in 1997. Dr. Kysela is pursuing a PhD in anthropology at the University of Toronto. She works in the field of international health, in particular HIV primary health care in under-resourced settings.

The fourteen new Trudeau Scholars named today, all of whom are doctoral candidates in the social sciences and humanities, are pursuing research touching upon one or more of the four themes of the Foundation: Human Rights and Social Justice; Responsible Citizenship; Canada and the World; and Humans and their Natural Environment.

Each year, up to fifteen doctoral students are chosen through a highly rigorous selection process. As the premier doctoral scholarship in Canada for studies in the social sciences and humanities, each student receives $35,000 per year for up to four years plus an additional $15,000 annually to support research-related travel. Students are matched with mentors who are prominent national and international leaders in their respective fields.

Dr. Kysela said, “It is truly an honour to be one of the 2004 Trudeau Foundation Doctoral Scholars. This award gives me the freedom to pursue my academic interests with the support of an outstanding organization of unique individuals. I am looking forward to engaging with others, sharing ideas, and working through critical issues that are central to our global society.”

Roy L. Heenan, Chairman of the Board of the Trudeau Foundation, said, “I am delighted with this addition to our twelve Trudeau Scholars appointed last year, which helps bring new talent to solving some of society’s most pressing issues. The Trudeau Scholars will make a significant difference in the quality of debate on public policy in Canada.”

The14 new Trudeau Scholars are pursuing their doctorates across ten different disciplines at 10 universities in Canada and one university overseas. Ten of the students are Canadians, one is Portuguese and one is Burundian.

This year’s recipients are Jillian Boyd (Law, University of Toronto); Ken Caine (Rural Sociology, University of Alberta); Colleen Davison (Community Health Sciences, University of Calgary); Nora Doerr-MacEwen (Environmental Planning, University of Waterloo); Margarida Garcia (Sociology, University of Quebec at Montreal); Robert Huish (Geography, Simon Fraser University); Alenia Kysela (Anthropology, University of Toronto); Patti-Ann LaBoucane-Benson (Human Ecology, University of Alberta); David Mendelsohn (Islamic Studies, McGill University); Alain-Désiré Nimubona (Applied Economics, HEC Montreal); Rebecca Pollock (Canadian Studies, Trent University); Karen Rideout (Resource Management and Environmental Studies, University of British Columbia); Louis-Joseph Saucier (Sociology, University of Quebec at Montreal) and Grégoire Webber (Law, University of Oxford). A complete profile of each Trudeau Scholar can be found at www.trudeaufoundation.ca.

“We are extremely pleased to welcome these remarkable young people to the Foundation’s growing national and international network,” said Professor Stephen J. Toope, President of the Trudeau Foundation. “I am confident that they will make invaluable contributions as future leaders in their areas of research.”

The new Scholars will participate in the first Trudeau Public Policy Conference, to be held in Montreal in October, on the theme “Ideas Move – Sharing Knowledge Across Cultural Boundaries and Security Barriers”.

The Montreal-based Trudeau Foundation, established in 2002 as a living memorial to the late Prime Minister, encourages public debate and supports exceptional research on issues of public policy.