Skip to navigation content (Press Enter).

McMaster University

Sun dial on the facade of Hamilton Hall

Faculty of Science Elections

The election of faculty members to the Senate is conducted from January to April of each year and by by-election as necessary. Information will be posted during the election periods. Please check the website for updates.

Please contact the University Secretariat if you have any questions.



Dr. Ian Dworkin Associate Professor (01/07/17) Biology 3-year term
Dr. Kalai Saravanamuttu Associate Professor Chemistry and Chemical Biology  
Dr. David Shore Professor Psychology, Neuroscience & Behaviour  
Dr. Erik Sorensen Professor Physics & Astronomy 3-year term


Tenure and Promotion Committee

Dr. Ben Bolker Professor Mathematics & Statistics 3-year term
Dr. Mike Brook Professor Chemistry & Chemical Biology 3-year term
Dr. Sean Carey Professor School of Geography & Earth Sciences  
Dr. Maikel Rheinstadter Associate Professor Physics & Astronomy 2-year term
Dr. Colin Seymour Professor Biology  
Dr. Hong-Jin Sun Associate Professor Psychology, Neuroscience & Behaviour  
Dr. Ignacio Vargas-Baca Associate Professor Chemistry & Chemical Biology 2-year term


Graduate Council

Dr. David Emslie Associate Professor Chemistry & Chemical Biology  
Dr. Shui Feng Professor Mathematics & Statistics 1-year term
Dr. Vladimir Ljubicic Assistant Professor Kinesiology  
Dr. Jim Lyons Professor Kinesiology  
Dr. Fiona McNeill Professor Physics & Astronomy 3-year temr
Dr. Mel Rutherford Professor Psychology, Neuroscience & Behaviour  



Representatives to Other Faculties

Representative to Faculty of Business (3-year term)
Dr. Jim Dowling Associate Professor Kinesiology  
Dr. Ayesha Khan Assistant Professor Psychology, Neuroscience & Behaviour 3-year term



Rules, Regulations and Terms of Reference