Skip to navigation content (Press Enter).

McMaster University

Sun dial on the facade of Hamilton Hall

Faculty of Humanities Elections

The election of faculty members to the Senate is conducted from January to April of each year and by by-election as necessary. Information will be posted during the election periods. Please check the website for updates.

Please contact the University Secretariat if you have any questions.

Candidates and Résumés



FOUR VACANCIES (two for 3-year terms, one for a 2-year term, and one for a 1-year term)
Dr. Martin Beckmann Associate Professor Classics  
Dr. Nancy Doubleday Associate Professor Philosophy  
Dr. Diane Enns Professor (01/07/17) Philosophy  
Dr. Mark Johnstone Associate Professor Philosophy  
Prof. Judy Major-Girardin Associate Professor School of the Arts  
Dr. Mary Silcox Professor English & Cultural Studies  
Click on the candidate's name to view their résumé.


Tenure and Promotion Committee

TWO VACANCIES (for 3-year terms)
Dr. Megan Armstrong Associate Professor History  
Dr. Elisabeth Gedge Associate Professor Philosophy  
Dr. Janice Hladki Associate Professor School of the Arts  
Dr. Ian McKay Professor History  
Dr. Michael Schutz Associate Professor School of the Arts  

Note: To satisfy Faculty By-law II B. (viii) at least one of the two vacancies must be filled by a faculty member holding the rank of Associate Professor and a maximim of one member each from the Faculties of History and Philosophy can be elected. The electorate shall consist of all full-time members of the Faculty of Humanities.


Academic Planning Committee

TWO VACANCIES (one for a 2-year term and one for a 1-year term- September 1-August 31)
Dr. Joelle Papillon* Assistant Professor French  
Dr. Rachel Rensink-Hoff* Assistant Professor School of the Arts  

Note: Two nominations were received for two vacancies. Therefore, both candidates have been elected by acclamation to a seat on the Academic Planning Committee. An election will be held to determine which candidate will serve the 2-year term and which candidate will serve the 1-year term.


Graduate Council

Dr. Spencer Pope* Associate Professor Classics  



Nominating Committee

Dr. Stephen Heathorn* Professor History  
Dr. Stefan Sciaraffa* Associate Professor Philosophy  
Dr. Magda Stroinska* Professor Linguistics & Languages  



Representatives to Other Faculties

Representative to Faculty of Engineering
Dr. Michael Egan* Associate Professor History  
Representative to Faculty of Health Sciences
Dr. John Connolly* Professor Linguistics & Languages  
Representative to Faculty of Social Sciences
Dr. Nadine Attewell* Associate Professor English & Cultural Studies  




You may cast your ballot in this election any time from 8:30 a.m. until midnight on Tuesday, March 21, 2017 and from 8:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 22, 2017.

Voters will need their MAC ID and password to cast a ballot.

Eligible voters who do not have access to the website may vote in the University Secretariat office (Gilmour Hall, Room 210).

Click here for On-Line Voting.

Rules, Regulations and Terms of Reference